RECRUITING

We are looking for basses, sopranos and altos
for September 2022.

Click here for details.

Season 2021-2022

25

MAR

Festival de la voix

Grand Concert

"Your concert was for me the surprise of the evening ... so very beautiful, so eclectic"

 Donald Patriquin, composer and conductor

 

“… an exquisite performance. Thank you for bringing my music to life with such artistry ..."

 Dr. Benjamin Bolden, composer and professor of music

SOUNDCLOUD

YOUTUBE

PHOTOS

017_web.jpg
020_web.jpg
028_web.jpg
012_web.jpg
 
 
 
 

UPCOMING CONCERTS

A word on our 35th year

From its beginnings as a small a cappella group in 1987, the Sainte-Anne Singers has attracted members who take a particular pleasure in creating beautiful harmonies with the voice alone. Its original repertoire of Renaissance, folk and pop music has expanded to include contemporary choral music, featuring many Canadian composers. But the devotion to a cappella has not changed!

 

Over the years, the Sainte-Anne Singers has enjoyed multiple collaborations with Montreal choirs and choral events. It has performed twice at Podium, Canada’s biennial choral conference, with a third performance in 2020 cancelled due to the pandemic.

 

The ensemble has twice been awarded second place in the chamber choir category of the National Competition for Canadian Amateur Choirs, and was designated a “Choeur fleuron” by the Alliance chorale du Québec from 2019 to 2021.

 

But our biggest thrill is to return to live performance after a hiatus of two years – just in time to celebrate our 35th. We hope you will join us!

 

For more on the choir, click here.​​

Aqu'appella - May 15

The Sainte-Anne Singers present music on a watery theme, across a range of musical genres. Well-known folk and popular songs include Stan Rogers’ “Fogarty’s Cove”, the Scottish folksong “The Water is Wide”,  “Je voudrais voir la mer” by Michel Rivard, Stephen Hatfield’s “La lluvia” (Rain), and “Bridge Over Troubled Water” by Simon and Garfunkel. And for a touch of jazz, “Soon It’s Gonna Rain”.


The rousing folk-style “Rain in the Country” by Canadian composer Aaron Jensen will be accompanied by percussionist Chelsea Jaramillo on the cajon.  “Selene’s Boat”, a mesmerizing composition by Don Macdonald, will feature Chelsea on the “tank drum”, a close relative of the pitched “tongue drum”.

And since water at night reflects the stars, we have included the lovely Voces8 version of “Underneath the Stars”, and Basque composer Josu Elberdin’s “Izar Ederrak” (“The Beautiful Star”).

Tickets on sale only at Eventbrite

Information: (514) 267-7862

Affiche220515.jpg

PAST CONCERTS AND REPERTOIRE

2021/12
2021/12
press to zoom
2019/12
2019/12
press to zoom
2019/05
2019/05
press to zoom
2018/12
2018/12
press to zoom
2018/05
2018/05
press to zoom
2017/12
2017/12
press to zoom
2017/04
2017/04
press to zoom
2016/12
2016/12
press to zoom
2016/05
2016/05
press to zoom
2015/12
2015/12
press to zoom
2015/05
2015/05
press to zoom
2014/12
2014/12
press to zoom
2014/05
2014/05
press to zoom
2013/12
2013/12
press to zoom
2013/05
2013/05
press to zoom
2012/12
2012/12
press to zoom
2012/05
2012/05
press to zoom
2011/12
2011/12
press to zoom
 

THE CHOIR

From its beginnings as a small a cappella group in 1987, the Sainte-Anne Singers has attracted members who take a particular pleasure in creating beautiful harmonies with the voice alone, and in communicating that pleasure to their audience. It now includes 20 singers from the West Island, Greater Montreal and beyond. 

Much of its repertoire is contemporary, especially Canadian, American and Northern European, but the group also performs works of the Renaissance and the 19th and 20th centuries, as well as sophisticated pop and jazz arrangements. 

Over the years, the Sainte-Anne Singers has enjoyed multiple collaborations with the Montreal Chamber Orchestra (Wanda Kaluzny), the McGill University Children’s and Youth Choirs, the John Laing Singers (Hamilton) and the St. Lawrence Choir. It has been a frequent participant in events such as the Mondial choral Loto-Québec, the Canadian Connections concert series sponsored by the Montreal Choral Institute, the Festival de musique religieuse, the Nuit des Choeurs of the Festival Bach de Montréal, the Festival de la Voix (West Island) and the Classical  Spree concerts sponsored by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra.

The Sainte-Anne Singers has performed at Podium, Canada’s biennial choral conference, in 2012 (Ottawa) and 2014 (Halifax). A third performance at Podium in Montreal in 2020 was cancelled because of the pandemic.

The ensemble has received numerous awards, including first place at the advanced level of the ARCIM competition (2001), and second place in the chamber choir category of the National Competition for Canadian Amateur Choirs (2010, 2015), as well as finalist in the same category in 2019. 

 

Along with the Choeur de chambre du Québec and the Chœur du Plateau , the Sainte-Anne Singers  was designated a ”Choeur fleuron” by the Alliance chorale du Québec from 2019 to 2021, in recognition of its musical quality and its contribution to Quebec choral life.

ARTISTIC DIRECTOR

Passionate about a cappella, Margo Keenan studied voice privately and has sung for many years in several a cappella quartets in and around Montreal. She has taught music at the primary level and founded and directed numerous choirs in elementary and secondary schools in the Montreal area.

Margo founded the Sainte-Anne Singers in 1987. She studied conducting privately with Peter Schubert and Michael Zaugg. In 2013, she was presented with the Prix Jean-Pierre Guindon in recognition of her contribution to choral singing in Quebec over more than twenty-five years.

Since 2014, Margo Keenan also directs the Philomela Singers, a West Island community choir, as well as a 60-voice choir which forms each spring in order to perform at the West Island-based Festival de la Voix.

margo4.jpg

THE SINGERS

Many of the singers in this auditioned group have a solid vocal or instrumental background; others are experienced choristers.

SOPRANO

Francesca Abbondanza-Bergeron

Robin Hornstein

Isabelle Lafrenière

Katrina Lowe

Sheila Warren

ALTO

Annika Diehl

Barb Forton

 Isabelle Ivanov

Nancy Lepine

Georgia Smith

Mary Tsartolias

TENOR

Martin Fairbank

 Jean-Marie François

Chih-Ying Lay

Luc Ménard

Gilles Pesant

BASS

Jean Jeukens

Claude Roy

Daniel Taillon

 

CONTACT

We are looking for basses, sopranos and altos

Do you love a cappella? The Sainte-Anne Singers, designated Chœur Fleuron by the Alliance chorale du Québec, is the West Island’s award-winning chamber ensemble dedicated to singing contemporary repertoire by Quebec, Canadian, American and Northern European composers, as well as standards of a cappella repertoire from all eras. Our concerts always include a variety of styles, from the sublime to the silly.

 

Rehearsals, which are bilingual, are in Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue on Monday nights, September to May. Two extra rehearsals are scheduled prior to concerts.

We hold auditions whenever there is an opening. Since these often fill quickly, singers interested in joining are encouraged to contact us without waiting for the beginning of the season.

If you enjoy a challenge, have choral experience, excellent pitch and some sight-reading ability, contact Margo Keenan at mkeenan@videotron.ca to arrange an audition.

WRITE TO US

Thanks! Message sent

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

RECRUTEMENT

Nous sommes à la recherche de basses,
sopranos et altos pour septembre 2022.

Cliquez ici pour les détails

Saison 2021-2022

25

MAR

Festival de la voix

Grand concert

"Votre concert a été pour moi la surprise de la soirée … si beau, si éclectique"

 Donald Patriquin, compositeur et chef d'orchestre

 

“… une performance exquise. Merci de donner vie à ma musique avec autant d’art ..."

 Benjamin Bolden, compositeur et professeur de musique

SOUNDCLOUD

YOUTUBE

PHOTOS

017_web.jpg
020_web.jpg
028_web.jpg
012_web.jpg
 
 
 
 

PROCHAINS CONCERTS

Un mot sur notre 35ième année

À partir d’un petit groupe a cappella à ses débuts en 1987, l’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne a attiré des chanteurs particulièrement fervents de créer de belles harmonies exclusivement par la voix. Son répertoire original de musique de la Renaissance, de folk et de pop s’est élargi pour comprendre la musique chorale contemporaine, mettant en vedette de nombreux compositeurs canadiens. Mais la dévotion à l’a cappella n’a pas changé!  

 

Au cours des années, l’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne a collaboré à plusieurs reprises avec des chœurs et des événements choraux montréalais. Il s’est produit deux fois à Podium, le congrès choral canadien biennal. Une troisième participation en 2020 à Montréal a été annulée en raison de la pandémie.

Le groupe s’est vu décerner la deuxième place au Concours national pour chœurs amateurs canadiens dans la catégorie Chœur de chambre, et il a été désigné « Chœur fleuron » par l'Alliance chorale du Québec de 2019 à 2021.

Mais notre plus grande joie est de revenir au concert live après une pause de deux ans, juste à temps pour célébrer notre 35ième. Nous espérons vous y voir!

Pour en savoir plus sur la chorale, cliquer ici.

Aqu'appella - 15 mai

L’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne présente de la musique sur un thème aqueux à travers une gamme de genres musicaux. Parmi des chansons folk et pop se trouvent « Fogarty’s Cove » de Stan Rogers, la ballade écossaise « The Water is Wide », « Je voudrais voir la mer » de Michel Rivard, « La lluvia » (La pluie) de Stephen Hatfield et « Bridge Over Troubled Water » de Simon et Garfunkel.​ Et du côté jazz, “Soon It’s Gonna Rain”.

La ballade animée « Rain in the Country » par le compositeur canadien Aaron Jensen sera accompagnée au cajon par la percussionniste Chelsea Jaramillo. « Selene’s Boat », une composition hypnotisante de Don Macdonald, sera accompagnée par Chelsea au « tank drum », un instrument qui ressemble au tambour à langue mélodique.

Puisque l’eau sous un ciel nocturne reflète les étoiles, nous avons inclus « Underneath the Stars » dans la belle version de Voces8 ainsi que « Izar Ederrak » (La belle étoile) par le compositeur basque Josu Elberdin.

Billets en vente seulement sur Eventbrite

Information: (514) 267-7862

Affiche220515.jpg

CONCERTS PASSÉS ET RÉPERTOIRE

2021/12
2021/12
press to zoom
2019/12
2019/12
press to zoom
2019/05
2019/05
press to zoom
2018/12
2018/12
press to zoom
2018/05
2018/05
press to zoom
2017/12
2017/12
press to zoom
2017/04
2017/04
press to zoom
2016/12
2016/12
press to zoom
2016/05
2016/05
press to zoom
2015/12
2015/12
press to zoom
2015/05
2015/05
press to zoom
2014/12
2014/12
press to zoom
2014/05
2014/05
press to zoom
2013/12
2013/12
press to zoom
2013/05
2013/05
press to zoom
2012/12
2012/12
press to zoom
2012/05
2012/05
press to zoom
2011/12
2011/12
press to zoom
 

LE CHOEUR

À partir d’un petit groupe a cappella à ses débuts en 1987, l’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne a attiré des chanteurs particulièrement fervents de créer de belles harmonies exclusivement par la voix et de communiquer ce plaisir à leur auditoire. Aujourd’hui il regroupe environ 20 choristes provenant de l’Ouest-de-l’Île, de Montréal et de la périphérie. 

Une grande partie de son répertoire provient de compositeurs contemporains, en particulier canadiens, américains et nord-européens. Le choeur présente également des oeuvres de la Renaissance, du 19ième et du 20ième siècle ainsi que des pièces sophistiquées de pop et de jazz. 

Au cours des années, l’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne a connu de multiples collaborations avec l’Orchestre de chambre de Montréal (Wanda Kaluzny), les Chorales des enfants et des jeunes du Conservatoire de McGill, les John Laing Singers (Hamilton) et le Chœur St-Laurent. Il a participé fréquemment à des événements tels que le Mondial choral Loto-Québec, les concerts Amitiés canadiennes (Institut choral de Montréal), le Festival de musique religieuse, la Nuit des Chœurs du Festival Bach de Montréal, le Festival de la Voix dans l’Ouest-de-l’Île et les concerts de la Virée classique de l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal. 

L’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne s'est produit à Podium, le congrès choral canadien biennal, en 2012 (Ottawa) et en 2014 (Halifax). Une troisième participation â Podium en 2020 à Montréal a été annulée en raison de la pandémie.

Le groupe s’est vu décerner plusieurs prix, dont la première place au niveau avancé du concours ARCIM (2001), et la deuxième place au Concours national pour chœurs amateurs canadiens dans la catégorie Chœur de chambre (2010 et 2015). En 2019, il a reçu une mention honorable dans la même catégorie. 

Avec le Chœur de chambre du Québec et le Chœur du Plateau, L’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne a été désigné « chœur fleuron » par l'Alliance chorale du Québec de 2019 à 2021 en reconnaissance de sa qualité musicale et de sa contribution à la vie chorale au Québec.

DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE

Passionnée de musique a cappella, Margo Keenan a suivi des cours de voix privés pendant plusieurs années et elle a chanté dans plusieurs quatuors a cappella à Montréal et ses environs. Elle a enseigné la musique au primaire et a également fondé et dirigé plusieurs choeurs dans des écoles primaires et secondaires de la région de Montréal. 

Margo a fondé l’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne en 1987. Elle a poursuivi des études privées en direction avec Peter Schubert et Michael Zaugg. En 2013, elle a reçu le Prix Jean-Pierre Guindon en reconnaissance de sa contribution, depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans, au chant choral au Québec. 

Depuis 2014, elle dirige également la Chorale Philomela,  un chœur communautaire dans l’Ouest-de-l’Île, ainsi qu’un chœur de 60 voix qui se forme à chaque printemps pour participer au Festival de la Voix, basé dans l’Ouest-de-l’Île.

margo4.jpg

LES CHANTEURS

Plusieurs des membres auditionnés du groupe ont une formation vocale ou instrumentale approfondie; d’autres sont des choristes expérimentés.

SOPRANO

Francesca Abbondanza-Bergeron

Robin Hornstein

Isabelle Lafrenière

Katrina Lowe

Sheila Warren

ALTO

Annika Diehl

Barb Forton

 Isabelle Ivanov

Nancy Lepine

Georgia Smith

Mary Tsartolias

TÉNOR

Martin Fairbank

 Jean-Marie François

Chih-Ying Lay

Luc Ménard

Gilles Pesant

BASSE

Jean Jeukens

Claude Roy

Daniel Taillon

 

CONTACT

Nous recherchons des basses, sopranos et altos

Aimez-vous le chant a cappella? L’Ensemble vocal Sainte-Anne, désigné Chœur Fleuron par l'Alliance chorale du Québec, est le choeur de chambre primé de l’Ouest-de-l’Île dédié au répertoire contemporain de compositeurs québécois, canadiens, américains et nord-européens ainsi qu’aux bijoux du répertoire a cappella de toutes les époques. Nos concerts comprennent toujours une variété de styles, allant du sublime au frivole.

Les répétitions bilingues ont lieu le lundi de 19h30 à 22h00 à l'Église Union, 24 avenue Maple, Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue,  de septembre à mai. Il y a deux répétitions supplémentaires avant les concerts.

Nous faisons passer des auditions dès qu'une place se libère. Puisque celles-ci se comblent assez rapidement, nous encourageons tout chanteur intéressé à se joindre à nous de nous contacter sans attendre le début de la saison.

Si vous aimez les défis, avez de l’expérience chorale, une voix juste et une certaine capacité à lire la musique, veuillez contacter Margo Keenan à mkeenan@videotron.ca pour organiser une audition.

ÉCRIVEZ NOUS

Merci ! Message envoyé.

ABONNEZ VOUS À NOTRE INFOLETTRE